The Green Felt – installation in development

The Green Felt – ‘first plant’. Installation in development, CiCi Blumstein 2009

Started research on my new project The Green Felt today. Lots of ideas sparking at the moment …

The photo above was taken in Blank Gallery, on the very last night of my installation i am too big for this town for architecture08 festival in June last year, after all the sculptures had been taken down & packed up. The plant is a Voodoo Lily, given to me by my friend Heike on the opening night 2 weeks before. I had kept it in the gallery space for the duration of the exhibition, and it had grown by an enormous 30+ cm. Feels now as if the idea for this new project had been planted right then …

The Green Felt will continue to explore the themes of measuring space, how we inhabit space in all its forms, linking up with some of my other on-going projects such as Woman with Watering Can.

More as things develop …


